Try the Acrobat Course for Free!

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI- Tutorial

/ / Acrobat, Latest
Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI- Tutorial: A picture of the

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI: Overview

            You can initiate a shared document review in Acrobat XI, in which all participants can view and respond to others’ comments. A shared document review in Acrobat XI is usually more effective than an email review if many people will be participating in the shared document review in Acrobat XI. The shared document review in Acrobat XI process creates a copy of the file on a shared server location of your choosing which allows others to comment and collaborate on the shared PDF directly. The shared file will be named the same as the original, but with a “_review” added to the file name.

            To initiate a shared document review in Acrobat XI, open the PDF to share and review and then select the “Send for Shared Review” tool in the Review panel within the Comment pane in the Task Pane to launch the “Send for Shared Review” wizard. This wizard will pose questions to you on each screen. Answer the questions, make any choices needed, and provide it with the requested information in each screen. When finished within a screen click the “Next” button at the bottom of the wizard to proceed to the next screen. If needed, you can click the “Previous” button to return to a previous screen and change your answers. When you have finished, click the “Send” button to save the PDF to a shared location and send notifications to the selected users to review the file. Note that if you are publishing a document that already contains markups or comments, you will see a message box appear after clicking the “Send” button that asks if you want to publish the existing comments to the review server as the author. You can click “Yes” or “No,” as desired.

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI- Tutorial: A picture of the "Send for Shared Review" wizard in Acrobat XI Pro.

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI- Tutorial: A picture of the “Send for Shared Review” wizard in Acrobat XI Pro.

            Acrobat will save the setting choices that you make within this wizard into a sharing server configuration file that you can select from the drop-down on the first screen of the wizard in the future to share another PDF using the same shared reviewing settings. That way you will only need to step though the wizard again if you want to share the file in a new way using a different server configuration.

            To delete a saved server sharing configuration file that you no longer use, select “Edit| Preferences…” from the Menu Bar to open the “Preferences” dialog box. Select the “Tracker” category at the left side of the dialog box. Then select the sharing configuration to delete from the “Remove Custom Server Locations” drop-down in the area to the right. Then click the “Remove Server Profile” button to the right of the drop-down and click “Yes” in the message box that appears to delete the selected server sharing profile. Then click the “OK” button at the bottom of the “Preferences” dialog box to save your changes.

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI: Instructions

  1. To initiate a shared document review in Acrobat XI, open the PDF to share and review and then select the “Send for Shared Review” tool in the Review panel within the Comment pane in the Task Pane to launch the “Send for Shared Review” wizard.
  2. This wizard will pose questions to you on each screen. Answer the questions, make any choices needed, and provide it with the requested information in each screen.
  3. When finished within a screen click the “Next” button at the bottom of the wizard to proceed to the next screen.
  4. If needed, you can click the “Previous” button to return to a previous screen and change your answers.
  5. To save the PDF to a shared location and send notifications to the selected users to review the file when you are finished, click the “Send” button.
  6. If publishing a document that already contains markups or comments, you will see a message box appear after clicking the “Send” button that asks if you want to publish the existing comments to the review server as the author. Click “Yes” or “No,” as desired.
  7. Acrobat will save the setting choices that you make within this wizard into a sharing server configuration file that you can select from the drop-down on the first screen of the wizard in the future to share another PDF using the same shared reviewing settings. That way you will only need to step though the wizard again if you want to share the file in a new way using a different server configuration.
  8. To delete a saved server sharing configuration file that you no longer use, select “Edit| Preferences…” from the Menu Bar to open the “Preferences” dialog box.
  9. Select the “Tracker” category at the left side of the dialog box.
  10. Select the sharing configuration to delete from the “Remove Custom Server Locations” drop-down in the area to the right.
  11. Click the “Remove Server Profile” button to the right of the drop-down and click “Yes” in the message box that appears to delete the selected server sharing profile.
  12. Click the “OK” button at the bottom of the “Preferences” dialog box to save your changes.

Shared Document Review in Acrobat XI: Video Lesson

            The following video lesson, titled “Sending for Shared Review,” shows you how to start a shared document review in Acrobat XI. This video lesson on starting a shared document review in Acrobat XI is from our complete Acrobat XI Pro training, titled “Mastering Acrobat Made Easy v. XI Pro.”

TOP
$199 $49 Entire Library! 0 Days 0 Hours 40 Minutes 50 Seconds      Get a better deal!
Get Coupon